The Naturals

Posted: Friday, December 27, 2013, 8:32 am

Reserve now!

The Naturals

Jennifer Lynn Barnes

2013

reserve now!

Kate F

Teens

General fiction, Thriller and suspense

In brief

4

Oh, what? You wanted to read a super-fun book that's pretty much the "Criminal Minds" of teen fiction? Look no further!

Cassie is not your average teen. She has a special knack for psychological profiling-- she can pick up on the tiniest clues and know almost everything about a person without even talking to them. It's something she can just naturally do, and the FBI has taken note. They recruit Cassie to work on cold cases with other Naturals, a classified group of gifted teens. One is a pro at reading emotions, one is an analytical genius, one is skilled at detecting liars and one is just like Cassie.

In addition to the cold cases, Cassie's talents are needed to help catch a serial killer. BUT WAIT. There's more. Cassie's mom was murdered five years ago, and it soon becomes clear that her killer is now stalking Cassie-- and knows way too much about the inner workings of the Naturals. And is it maybe even the same serial killer currently terrorizing one young woman after another? DUN DUN DUNNNNNN. (Insert ominous sound effect.) At this point in the book, I'm pretty sure I wasn't breathing, and I honestly had NO CLUE who the killer was. It's a sneaky, sneaky book.

In addition to its sneakiness, The Naturals is also fast-paced and suspenseful, and I highly recommend it for fans of Criminal Minds and CSI.