The Wicked Girls

Posted: Tuesday, October 29, 2013, 8:29 am

Reserve now!

The Wicked Girls

Alex Marwood

2013

reserve now!

Kate F

Adults

General fiction, Thriller and suspense

In brief

4

If psychological thrillers are your bag, pick this up and you'll be creeped out in no time!

When 11-year-olds Bel and Jade are found guilty of murder in 1986, part of their sentence is agreeing to never see each other again. Flash forward a couple of decades, and they are both living under new identities: Amber and Kirsty.

Amber and Kirsty haven't seen or spoken to each other in all that time, but they come face to face when Amber finds a dead body in the seaside amusement park where she works, and Kirsty, now an investigative journalist, is sent to report on what is shaping up to be a serial killer on the loose.

I was instantly wrapped up in the dual mysteries of who the serial killer was, and what exactly happened on that day in 1986. Much of what makes this book unique are the questions that arise surrounding Bel and Jade's crime: Do our actions as children determine our paths in life? Is it nature or nurture that ultimately shapes who we are? Can children truly be evil? Tense and suspenseful, it's a thriller with some real depth. Fans of Gone Girl, Broken Harbor and Reconstructing Amelia, this is right up your (dark and creepy) alley.