Help with civic and government information

Do you need to report a pothole to the city? Would you like help with a homebound family member? Are you lost trying to figure out how to officially change your name? We want to help!

The following list of consumer resources includes links to government services at all three levels: local, state and federal. If you're not sure where to start your search, just Ask Us!

Local

Flags

Local Government

Legal Assistance

Public records

Residential

Social Services

Voting

State

Federal

Federal Depository Library Basic Collection

  • American FactFinder
    American FactFinder provides access to data about the United States, Puerto Rico and the Island Areas. The data in American FactFinder come from several censuses and surveys.
  • Ben's Guide to the U.S. Government
    Ben's Guide provides information about the U.S. Government, tailored for students in all grades K-12.
  • Budget of the United States Government
    Issued by the Office of Management and Budget (OMB), the Budget of the United States Government is a collection of documents that contains the budget message of the President, information about the President's budget proposals for a given fiscal year, and other budgetary publications that have been issued throughout the fiscal year
  • Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance
    Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance (CFDA) provides a full listing of all Federal programs available to State and local governments (including the District of Columbia); federally-recognized Indian tribal governments; Territories (and possessions) of the United States; domestic public, quasi- public, and private profit and nonprofit organizations and institutions; specialized groups; and individuals.
  • Catalog of U.S. Government Publications
    The CGP is the finding tool for federal publications that includes descriptive records for historical and current publications and provides direct links to those that are available online.
  • Census of Population and Housing: Population & Housing Unit Counts (all states - U.S. Summary and Puerto Rico) (Series PHC-3)
    The PHC-3, Population and Housing Unit Counts, report series provides Census 2000 and historical comparisons of the 100-percent population and housing unit counts. (See American FactFinder for current census data.)
  • Census of Population and Housing: Summary Population & Housing Characteristics (all states - U.S. Summary and Puerto Rico) (Series PHC-1)
    The PHC-1, "Summary Population and Housing Characteristics," report series provides data based on the 100-percent questions. The subjects are age, Hispanic or Latino origin, household relationship, race, sex, tenure (owner- or renter-occupied), and vacancy characteristics. (See American FactFinder for current census data.)
  • Census of Population and Housing: Summary Social - Economic - & Housing Characteristics (all states - U.S. Summary and Puerto Rico) (Series PHC-2)
    The PHC-2, "Summary Social, Economic, and Housing Characteristics," report series provides sample data on a wide range of characteristics. (See American FactFinder for current census data.)
  • Census of Population and Housing: Social - Economic - & Housing Characteristics (Outlying Areas) (Series PHC-4)
    The census tells us who we are and where we are going as a nation. The census helps our communities determine where to build everything from schools to supermarkets, and from homes to hospitals. It helps the government decide how to distribute funds and assistance to states and localities. It is also used to draw the lines of legislative districts and reapportion the seats each State holds in Congress. (See American FactFinder for current census data.)
  • Code of Federal Regulations
    The Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) annual edition is the codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the departments and agencies of the Federal Government.
  • Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents
    The Compilation of Presidential Documents collection consists of the Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents and the Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents which are the official publications of materials released by the White House Press Secretary.
  • Congressional Directory
    The Congressional Directory is the official directory of the U.S. Congress, prepared by the Joint Committee on Printing (JCP). It offers short biographies of each member of the Senate and House, listed by state or district; committee memberships, terms of service, administrative assistants and/or secretaries, and room and telephone numbers for Members of Congress; and lists officials of the courts, military establishments, and other Federal departments and agencies, including D.C. government officials, governors of states and territories, foreign diplomats, and members of the press, radio, and television galleries.
  • Congressional Record (daily)
    The Congressional Record is the official record of the proceedings and debates of the United States Congress. It is published daily when Congress is in session.
  • Constitution of the United States of America: Analysis and Interpretation
    This version of the Constitution of the United States includes many additional pages interpretation and analysis in links to PDF documents.
  • Economic Indicators
    Available from April 1995 forward, this monthly publication is prepared by the Council of Economic Advisers for the Joint Economic Committee. It provides economic information on gross domestic product, income, employment, production, business activity, prices, money, credit, security markets, Federal finance, and international statistics.
  • Economic Report of the President
    The Economic Report of the President is an annual report written by the Chairman of the Council of Economic Advisers. It overviews the nation's economic progress using text and extensive data appendices. Documents are available in plain text and PDF, with many of the tables also available for separate viewing and downloading as spreadsheets in Microsoft Excel spreadsheets.
  • FDsys
    GPO's Federal Digital System (FDsys) provides free online access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.
  • Federal Register (daily)
    Published by the Office of the Federal Register, National Archives and Records Administration (NARA), the Federal Register is the official daily publication for rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as executive orders and other presidential documents.
  • Bicentennial Edition: Historical Statistics of the United States - Colonial Times to 1970* - Part 1 (PDF) and Bicentennial Edition: Historical Statistics of the United States - Colonial Times to 1970* - Part 2 (PDF)
  • Occupational Outlook Handbook
    The Occupational Outlook Handbook is a comprehensive guide to career information about hundreds of occupations. It includes job descriptions, salary information, training requirements, and forecasts.
  • Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States
    The Public Papers of the Presidents are an official series in which Presidential writings, addresses, and remarks of a public nature are made available. Online papers begin in 1991 with the Georgia H.W. Bush presidency.
  • Social Security Handbook
    The Social Security Handbook includes the provisions of the Social Security Act (the Act), regulations issued under the Act, and precedential case decisions (rulings) in a readable, easy to understand resource for the very complex Social Security programs and services.
  • United States Statutes at Large
    The United States Statutes at Large, typically referred to as the Statutes at Large, is the permanent collection of all laws and resolutions enacted during each session of Congress. Online volumes cover 1951 to the present.
  • United States Code
    The United States Code is the codification by subject matter of the general and permanent laws of the United States. It is divided by broad subjects into 51 titles and published by the Office of the Law Revision Counsel of the U.S. House of Representatives. The U.S. Code was first published in 1926 with subsequent main editions have been published every six years since 1934. In between editions, annual cumulative supplements are published in order to present the most current information.
  • United States Government Manual
    As the official handbook of the Federal Government, the United States Government Manual provides comprehensive information on the agencies of the legislative, judicial, and executive branches. It also includes information on quasi-official agencies; international organizations in which the United States participates; and boards, commissions, and committees. The Manual begins with reprints of the Declaration of Independence and the U.S. Constitution.
  • United States Reports
    The United States Reports are the official record of the rulings, orders, case tables, and other proceedings of the Supreme Court of the United States. The Reports are often used for citing Supreme Court decisions.
  • USA Counties
    USA Counties features over 6,600 data items for the United States, States and counties from a variety of sources, compiled by the Census Bureau.

revised April 2015