At both OWL and NWL, most reference books on college-related topics are shelved together in special areas. At OWL, they are kept on the business reference tables and at NWL, they are kept on the consumer reference tables.
Most of the circulating books on college-related topics can be found in the general non-fiction area under call numbers beginning 378.
- College Blue Book. Revised annually. [R 378.73 COL]
This six-volume set includes information about four-year colleges, vocational schools and financial aid.
In addition to a directory of schools, Collegenet offers two unique features. College Search quickly focuses on schools best suited to your interests and personality. Scholarship Search looks for scholarships that match your personal profile.
- College Source (database)
College Source contains profiles of colleges and universities in the United States and Canada. The database includes school admission requirements, tuition and fees, including room and board, financial aid programs and special programs and accreditation.
EDUregistry is a no-frills site that provides basic contact information for colleges and universities in the United States. It includes four-year colleges, two-year colleges, vocational schools and technical schools. General overviews are provided for issues like admissions, financial aid and housing.
- My College Guide
Information about colleges and financial aid. You may submit questions to the site and search an archive of previous questions and their answers.
- Ohio Career Information System (database)
Use this database from the Ohio Department of Education to find information about schools, majors, careers and financial aid. Requires a valid library card for access outside the Library.
This online resource helps students and their families select a college, apply for admission and plan to finance higher education.
- Peterson's Guide to Colleges in the Midwest. Revised annually. [R 378.77 PET]
Divided into two main sections¡Xbrief profiles of schools organized by state followed by longer, descriptive discussions of selected schools. Indexes provide access to colleges by major, cost and difficulty of admission. Look also at Peterson's web site.
- Peterson's Guide to Two-Year Colleges. Revised annually. [R 378.73 TWO]
Similar to the same publisher's four-year college guide, this source provides comparable information on community colleges.
- Princeton Review
A comprehensive site that provides information and advice on all aspects of the college experiencechoosing a college, picking a major and financing your education.
- Web US Higher Education
This section of the University of Texas at Austin web site contains links to the home pages of universities, colleges and community colleges across the United States. Browse two-year and four-year schools alphabetically or by state, and link directly to the home page of any listed school.
Many directories identify and profile schools by cultural affiliation, location or programs offered. The titles below are only a selection of what is available at the Library. Ask a librarian for help finding a directory that meets your needs.
- American Trade Schools Directory. Updated monthly. [R 374.013 AME (OWL)]
This loose-leaf publication gives basic information about schools organized by state. Indexes allow you to search for schools by specific trade.
- Colleges for Students with Learning Disabilities or ADD. 2003. [R 378.73 COL]
Many colleges today offer assistance to students with learning disorders. This source offers brief descriptions of both four-and two-year colleges with comprehensive programs or special services.
- Guide to Distance Learning Programs. 2005. [378.1554 GUI]
This directory provides a listing of over 1,000 accredited institutions offering more than 3,000 degree programs.
- HBCU Network
This site includes a directory of Historically Black Colleges & Universities. From the home page, click on "School Profiles."
- Peterson's Sports Scholarships and College Athletic Programs. Revised biennially. [R 378.34 PET]
This directory includes profiles of college athletic programs and contact information for coaches.
- Peterson's Visual and Performing Arts. Revised annually. [R 707.11 VIS]
Sections for art, dance, music and theater contain profiles of schools that offer degrees in these areas.
- Study Abroad: Etudes a l'Etranger, Estudios en el Extranjero. Revised biennially. [R 378.35 STU]
UNESCO's guide to studies and financial assistance for post-secondary international students includes listings of colleges, courses and scholarships by country/territory. See the companion web site for a searchable database.
- America's Best Colleges. Revised annually. [378.73 AME]
This annual publication from U. S. News and World Report uses its own evaluative equation to rank colleges. Factors taken into account include academic reputation, graduation rate, freshmen retention, faculty quality, selectivity of admissions and financial resources. It provides supplemental information not found in the annual college ratings issue. Look also at the web site, http://www.usnews.com, and the companion book, America's Best Graduate Schools (378.1553 BES).
- The Best...Colleges. Revised annually. [378.1056 BES]
Student comments about campus life dominate each school's profile, giving the potential applicant a real sense of what it would be like to attend the school in question. Also includes information about admissions, financial aid and the academic performance of the incoming freshmen class. The same information is posted on the Princeton Review web site.
- The Fiske Guide to Colleges. Revised annually. [R 378.73 FIS]
Multi-page essays on each of the more than 300 schools chosen by the Fiske staff as the "best and most interesting" in the country. Essays cover academics, housing, food and social life.
- Measuring Up: The National Report Card on Higher Education
The National Center for Public Policy and Higher Education maintains this overview of higher education in America. Each state has a profile that includes information about affordability, completion rates and statewide participation in post-secondary education. Individual schools are not profiled.
- Rugg's Recommendations on the Colleges. Revised annually. [378.73 RUG]
Based primarily on the input of college students and secondary school counselors, this guide rates individual undergraduate programs rather than entire schools.
Financial aid comes in different forms (scholarships, loans and grants) from different sources (state governments, the federal government, schools and private foundations) and is often designated for different groups (athletes, women, minorities, etc.). The resources below should help you navigate this complex topic.
Most circulating books on financial aid can be found under call numbers beginning 378.3.
- College Money Handbook. Revised annually. [378.3025 COL]
An overview of various sources of college funding is followed by a section of individual school profiles with contact information for the financial aid officer and a breakdown of the sources of money available to the student body. Published by Peterson's/Thomson Learning.
- Don't Miss Out: The Ambitious Student's Guide to Financial Aid. Revised annually. [378.3 DON]
An overview of the whole financial aid process that covers trends in higher education finance, strategies for acquiring aid and sources of money both public and private.
This site is a subject directory to a wide range of financial aid sources on the Web.
- FAFSA Free Application for Federal Student Aid
The most popular section of the U. S. Department of E Education's web site, these pages include guides on locating and applying for student aid for college. You can use this online form to file a Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA).
- Ohio Board of Regents
The Ohio Board of Regents provides information about the grants and scholarships they administer.
- The Ohio Tuition Trust Authority's College Advantage
Find out about this state program that allows you to pay for future tuition at today's prices.
- U. S. Department of Education
Use this site to stay current with federal financial aid programs. Includes a Find Aid section as well as Grants and Contracts.
- The A's and B's of Academic Scholarships. Revised annually. [378.3 AS]
Many schools award their own scholarships for superior academic performance. This title provides a list, arranged by state, of schools and their scholarships. Schools often provide financial aid information through their home pages on the Web. Look for this information under headings like "admissions," "student services," "student information," "student aid" or "financial aid." FAFSA forms are available at the OWL Reference Desk and the NWL Information Desk.
- Scholarship Book. Revised annually. [378.34 SCH]
Based on information compiled by the National Scholarship Research Service, this book organizes private sector scholarships, grants and loans by field of study. A A Quick Find Index helps identify scholarships designated for particular groups.
- Athletic Scholarships for Dummies by Pat Britz and A Alexander Powe Allred. 2006. [378.34 BRI]
This guide covers everything parents and college-bound student athletes need to know about securing a full or partial college athletic scholarship.
- College Athletic Scholarships
This web site is designed to give student athletes all the information they need to search for and get college athletic scholarships. Look here for lists of colleges and universities in each state with links to their main intercollegiate athletics pages and coaches' contact pages.
Reference Service Press puts out a biennial series that covers financial aid for specific groups. These include Directory of Financial Aids for Women, R 378.3025 DIR; Financial Aid for African Americans, R 378.3025 FIN; Financial Aid for Asian Americans, R 378.3025 FIN; Financial Aid for Hispanic Americans, R 378.3025 FIN; Financial Aid for the Disabled and Their Families, 2002, R 378.3025 FIN; and Financial Aid for Veterans, Military Personnel, and their Dependants, R 378.3025 FIN.
Admissions and Admissions Tests
- ACT Home
The official ACT site has test dates, sample questions, test-taking hints and online test registration.
- College Board Online
The official site of the SAT has a schedule of test dates, online registration, test-taking hints, advice on college admissions and a scholarship search.
- College Essays that Make a Difference. 2003. [378.1056 COL]
Published by the Princeton Review, this book can help students write an essay that will greatly improve their chances of getting into college.
- Educational Testing Service Network
Test-takers can prepare themselves with practice questions straight from the administrators of the AP, GRE, ICT Literacy Assessment, major field tests, MAPP, PRAXIS, SAT, TOEFL, TOEIC and TSE.
- LearningExpress Library (database)
Go to LearningExpress Library for online practice academic standardized tests and skills improvement courses. Includes ACT, SAT, nursing school practice entrance tests, TOEFL, technical and career college skills and more. Requires a valid library card for access outside the Library.
- The Truth About Getting In by Katherine Cohen. 2002. [378.1056 COH]
Cohen's book covers useful topics such as choosing a college, writing applications essays and getting letters of recommendation.
Campus Life and Housing
- College Survival by Greg Gottesman and Daniel Baer. 2004. [378.198 GOT]
Written with input from students, College Survival offers tips on how to deal with the problems of daily college life. Includes packing for the trip to campus, choosing classes, studying, dating and even ironing.
- The Insider's Guide to the Colleges. Revised annually. [R 378.73 INS]
Students tell you what it is like to live, work and study at approximately 300 U. S. colleges. Each profile covers matters ranging from the quality of academic programs to the quality of dining hall food.
- Historically Black Colleges and Universities: A Reference Handbook by Cynthia L. Jackson. 2003. [378.73 JAC (OWL)]
Provides an overview of the rich past of historically black colleges and universities, and how their role in higher education is evolving for the future. This volume examines many aspects of 103 higher education institutions which enroll approximately 21 percent of all black college students.
Campus newspapers are an important source of information on campus life, and many are available online. Go to Yahoo! Directory and follow this series of links: News & Media > Newspapers > College and University.
To find off-campus housing, check the Web to see if the local paper is available online and look for the classifieds. A list of online newspapers can be found on the News and Newspapers Online web site.