There are many ways to find people via the Internet. Most require at least the person's last name, although it is often possible to find out who resides at a known address or has a known phone number (reverse searching).
It is important to remember:
- Internet-based directories are updated periodically, not immediately;
- People with unlisted phone numbers or without a phone in their name usually do not appear in Internet-based directories. Cell phone numbers are usually unlisted.
- It is generally difficult to find a person's e-mail address. The best way is to locate the company or institution with which they are affiliated and see if there is a directory of the staff's e-mail addresses.
Chances are that a person who cannot be found in online phone directories has no phone in his or her name, has moved recently or has an unlisted number.
This site includes phone numbers and addresses for people (and businesses), reverse phone number searching, area code look-up, links to international directories, maps and directions and a toll-free directory.
This valuable site searches for either businesses or people, either by name or by phone number, as well as being able to search for business by category or near a given address. It also provides some international coverage, maps and directions.
This site offers people searches by name (as well as address, category and name searching for businesses), and provides phone numbers and addresses. Area code and zip code look-ups are offered, and reverse searching is also available.
- Telephone Directories on the Web
This meta-site links to Yellow pages, White pages and sometimes fax listings for over 170 countries, and has country, area and international dialing codes.
- Yahoo! People Search
This directory finds phone numbers, addresses and some e- mail addresses—Yahoo accounts included with their holders' permission. (It also links to the Yellow pages to locate businesses.)
By searching the World Wide Web for a person's name, this general search engine can sometimes locate information about a person who is not listed in the online phone directories. use quotation marks to search for someone's name as a phrase ("Jane Doe"). You might also use google to locate a company or organization a person works for, and possibly track them through that affiliation.
This web site allows searching by a person's name nationwide. It offers virtually no contact information, but because it gives recent cities where a person has lived as well as the person's age, it might be useful in identifying their current city of residence, which could be used in conjunction with other resources listed in this guide. Be warned, the main purpose of this site is to sell more in-depth information to users.
- Reference USA (database)
Available from home with a valid library card. As well as its extensive business listings, this database features a Residential Search for the united States and Canada. The Quick Search allows searching by name or phone, with city or state limits possible. The Custom Search also permits searching by address, street name or zip code.
- Ohio Phone Directories. Revised annually.
These include the published (not unlisted) phone numbers for all communities in the state. Most are updated annually.
- Cross Reference for Ohio Phone Directories
This notebook indicates which phone directory contains a given Ohio community.
- Celebrity Directory. Revised biennially. [R 920.02 CeL]
This directory includes thousands of celebrities' addresses, including some from other countries.
- Haines Columbus City & Suburban Criss-Cross Directory. Revised annually. [R 917.7157 HAI]
The first section of this directory links addresses to their residents and listed phone numbers; the second section links phone numbers to names and addresses.
- How To Find Almost Anyone, Anywhere by Norma Mott Tillman. 1998. [363.2336 TIL]
Despite its age, this book offers useful tips, techniques and suggested resources on how to conduct in-depth research into finding almost anyone. Written by a private investigator.
- The Locator by Troy Dunn et al. 2000. [363.2336 DuN]
This contains strategies, methods and resource guides for tracking down whomever you want to find, worldwide. Written by an investigative company specializing in missing persons.
- The Writers Directory edited by Miranda H. ferrara. Revised annually. [R 920 WRI]
This directory lists writers and their addresses from all over the world.