Use these library and online resources to assist you in your job search.
Job Hunting and Career Guidance
- The Big Book of Jobs. [650.14 BIG]
This job directory provides detailed information on hundreds of jobs and career choices. It's a great tool for deciding what job is right for you.
- CareerOne Stop
Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Labor, this site offers career resources and workforce information to job seekers, students, businesses, and workforce professionals. Here you can explore careers, get information on salary and benefits, education and training, job searching, resumes and interviews and people and places to help.
- The Guide to Internet Job Searching by Margaret Riley Dickel (editor). Revised biannually. [025.0665 GUI]
Strategies for using the Internet to find a job, networking and interviewing online and posting your resume on the World Wide Web are covered. Includes a web directory of job hunting-related sites.
- Job Hunter's Sourcebook. Revised annually. [R 650.14 JOB]
This comprehensive reference is split into two sections. Part one lists sources of job hunting information by occupation. Part two lists sources of essential job hunting information by topics such as interviewing, relocation and opportunities for various populations.
- Occupational Outlook Handbook [331.7 OCC]
The Occupational Outlook Handbook is a publication of the U.S. Bureau of Labor that provides information and forecasts for hundreds of different career choices. The latest edition of the Occupational Outlook Handbook is also available online.
- Ohio Career Information System (database)
Use this database from the Ohio Department of Education to find information about schools, majors, careers and financial aid. Requires a valid library card for access outside the Library.
- O*NET Online
O*NET online is a powerful tool for researching occupations and jobs. The skills search feature is a great way to match your talents with specific occupations. There's also a feature that allows users to identify "in-demand" job sectors
- The Riley Guide's Career Research Center
The Riley Guide offers over a hundred pages of information on popular careers. Each career has its own detail page, including information on salaries for that career by city, the number of jobs by city, forecasted job growth rates, schools relevant to training for the career, and more.
- United States Bureau of Labor Statistics
This site is chock full of employment statistics, offering information on national, state and local, and state and county employment, employment and worker characteristics, employment research, international employment comparisons and employment projections.
- What Color is Your Parachute? by Richard Nelson Bolles. Revised annually. [650.14 BOL]
This popular guide provides practical information on how to conduct a successful job search. Take a look at the companion web site to this book.
- Ohio Labor Market Information
What jobs are in demand? How much do they pay? How many workers are unemployed? If you have questions like these, this site has the answers. OLMI is your source for reports and data about employment levels, unemployment rates, wages and earnings, employment projections, jobs, training resources and careers.
Central Ohio Jobs
- CareerBoard of Columbus and Central Ohio
Search local job listings, view profiles of local companies and post your resume online.
- Columbus Civil Service Commission
This site provides a list of examinations and positions currently open for filing with the City of Columbus.
- Columbus Dispatch Classifieds
This listing of classified ads from the Columbus Dispatch is updated daily.
ColumbusJobs is powered by Monster.com and the Columbus Dispatch. It provides access to the Columbus Dispatch classifieds as well as job hunting tips from Dispatch writers.
- Ohio Means Jobs
OhioMeansJobs provides a searchable listing of state jobs combined with national commercial job boards and niche industry sites.
- Ohio State University Jobs
Find a complete list of jobs available at The Ohio State University (including the OSU Medical Center).
- State of Ohio Job Search
This site lists all current openings with the state of Ohio as well as information on how to apply.
Job Hunting on the Web
CareerBuilder lets you search for jobs, post your resume, and also features a number of free tools including salary calculators, career assessments and resume critiques.
CareerOneStop is a web site that provides a wealth of information for job seekers. It includes tips for resume writing and interviewing, education and training links, and information on salaries and benefits.
Indeed is a job search engine. Enter the job you're looking for and a location, and Indeed returns results pulled from newspaper and job board listings as well as association and company employment sites.
Monster is the largest job search engine in the world. It lets you search for jobs, post your resume for recruiters to find, and also features company profiles and advice forums.
- Simply Hired
Simply hired is a job search engine boasting over 4 million job postings. Search by field and geography or browse by industry.
This site is maintained by the U. S. Government and provides information on federal jobs available across the country.
In addition to a job search feature, Vault offers news and discussions on companies and industries.
Resumes, Cover Letters and Interviews
- About.com's Interview Questions and Answers
Here you can access sample interview questions and find tips on interviewing, interview attire and crafting interview thank you letters.
- CareerOne Stop's Interviews
Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Labor, this site offers information on the different types of interviews, how to prepare for an interview, and a Ready to Go? Checklist so you'll arrive prepared.
- Cover Letters that Knock 'Em Dead by Martin Yate. Revised biannually. [650.14 COV]
Practical advice for writing cover letters, along with sample letters for today's hot jobs are presented in this book. Tips for using the Internet and creating electronic cover letters, including correspondence via e-mail are presented. Contacts for professional organizations and resume writing services are found in the appendix.
- The Ferguson Guide to Resumes and Job-Hunting Skills by Maurene J. Hines. [650.14 HIN]
Ferguson is a respected publisher in the career field. This book provides sample resumes with expert adive on putting together a successful job search.
- The Jobhunter's Bible Job and Resume Site
From the author of "What Color is Your Parachute" this site provides a clearinghouse of resume and cover letter information available online.
- JobStar Resumes and Cover Letters
This web site provides resume and cover letter writing tips, sample resumes and cover letters, in addition to profiles of electronic resume banks with tips on how to evaluate them.
- Knock 'Em Dead by Martin Yate. Revised annually. [650.14 KNO]
Once you have landed an interview, the challenge of surviving questions lies ahead. Martin Yate analyzes what the interviewer wants to find out about you, and tells you how to respond to hundreds of tough interview questions.
- Monster Resumes & Letters
The popular online recruitment provider offers articles packed with tips and advice on crafting resumes and cover letters. Especially noteworthy are the many sample resumes and cover letters the site provides.
- The Only Resume and Cover Letter Book You'll Ever Need edited by Richard Walsh [650.14 ONL]
This book contains over 600 sample cover letters and resumes covering over 150 different occupations.
- The OWL at Purdue's Resume Workshop
This resume workshop provides detailed explanations, as well step-by-step processes, for creating an effective resume.
- Resumes that Knock 'Em Dead by Martin Yate. Revised biannually. [650.14 YAT]
Advice on how to create a great resume that stands out from the rest is presented with scores of sample job-specific resumes and resumes for special situations. Strategies for using the Internet to get a job include electronic resumes and etiquette in an increasingly electronic world.
- The Riley Guide to Resumes and Cover Letters
The Riley Guide web site collects tips and advice on resume and cover letter writing from dozens of different sources.
- Susan Ireland Resumes
Susan Ireland, resume expert and author of The Complete Idiot's Guide to the Perfect Resume and Ready-Made Resumes Software, offers free resume advice and samples.
- Winway Resume Deluxe
Available on all public use computers (except 15 minute Express computers) at Worthington Libraries, this user-friendly program offers templates to guide you step-by-step in creating resumes and cover letters including suggested phrases and keywords related to your field. Winway also offers video tutorials to guide you through the interviewing process, and lets you search job listings from throughout the United States.
Where the Jobs Are: Employer Directories
- The Almanac of American Employers. Revised annually. [R 331.2 ALM]
- Book of Lists. Revised annually. [R 338.74 BOO]
The Book of Lists is published annually by Business First. It provides a list of the largest employers in central Ohio as well as the leading businesses in various sectors.
- National Jobbank. Revised annually. [R 331.128 NAT]
This directory profiles over 21,000 companies alphabetically by state and includes an index of companies by industry.
- Reference USA (database)
Reference USA, a subscription database, is an excellent tool for building company and contact lists. Requires a valid library card for access outside the Library.
- About.com's guide to Job Search Networking
Alison Doyle, About.com's guide to Job Searching, provides a number of articles outlining the importance of career networking, how to develop contacts and how job search networking can help you find a job.
- Guerrilla networking: a proven battle plan to attract the very people you want to meet by Jay Conrad Levinson and Monroe Mann. [650.13 LEV]
The authors challenge the reader to approach networking by becoming the kind of person that others want to meet.
LinkedIn lets you connect with people, give and receive recommendations and post your professional profile where recruiters can find it.
- LinkedIn for dummies by Joel Elad. [650.13 ALL]
Wondering what all the buzz is about LinkedIn? This book shows you how to use the site to network and find a job.
- Make your contacts count: networking know-how for business and career success by Anne Baber and Lynne Waymon. [650.13 BAB]
Networking is an essential professional competency, and this book provides a detailed, step-by-step approach to aquiring this skill.
- Smart networking: attract a following in person and online by Liz Lynch. 2009. [650.13 LYN]
Your online presence can be key to your networking success, and this book presents steps to building business relationships in a wired world.
Twitter is a "microblogging" service that lets you send and receive "tweets" of up to 140 characters. Job seekers can network through Twitter and post tweets to attract the attention of recruiters. Many companies and job boards also post ads to Twitter.
VisualCV lets you post your resume online, along with work samples, charts, graphs, images, audio and videos. Get your own unique URL to email to potential employers or post to networking sites. The site also lets you control who can see your information.
Central Ohio Networking Groups
When you're ready to get out there and start meeting people, Central Ohio offers a variety of options for face-to-face networking.
- Big Fish Networking
Founded in 1999, Big Fish Networking is a nationally recognized, Columbus and Central Ohio based networking group.
- Columbus Business Calendar
This site offers listings of business events around town, including networking opportunities.
- Columbus Young Professionals (CYP)
CYP Club focuses on providing social, cultural, philanthropic, athletic, and career networking opportunities for Columbus-area professionals in their twenties, thirties, and early forties.
- IT Martini
IT Martini connects Information Technology professionals in Ohio to their IT community with thoughtful and fun events.
- Scioto Ridge Networking Group
The Scioto Ridge Job Networking Group is a faith-based group for people who have lost their job or are anticipating a career change. The group provides help to job seekers of all faiths, races and backgrounds.
- Transition Networking for Ohio Women
This group offers networking opportunities for women returning to the workforce who are over 50.
Job Training and Education
Sometimes a new skill or a little extra training is all it takes to land your next job. The sites below can help you find training opportunities and certification requirements.
- Columbus Public Schools Department of Adult and Community Education
- U. S. Department of Labor Employment and Training Administration
- Columbus State Community College Adult Learner Services
- Ohio State University Office of Extended Education
- CareerOneStop Training and Education Center
- Learning Express Library (database)
Go to Learning Express Library for online practice academic standardized tests and skills improvement courses. Includes ACT, SAT, nursing school practice entrance tests, TOEFL, technical and career college skills and more. Requires a valid library card for access outside the Library.
Filing for Unemployment in Ohio
If you've recently lost your job, you may qualify for unemployment. Below are some sites that can help you through the process of filing an unemployment compensation claim.
- Ohio Department of Job and Family Services (ODJFS) Unemployment Benefits Online
This site links to all the online services provided by the ODJFS.
- Ohio Department of Job and Family Services "How to File for Unemployment"
This page provides an overview of the unemployment filing process.
- Internet Filing for Unemployment Compensation - A Help Guide (PDF; 115KB)
The ODJFS has produced this document that outlines the online filing procedure and provides you with a list of the information you'll need before starting the online application process.
Wage, Salary and Relocation Information
- American Salaries and Wages Survey by Helen S. Fisher. Revised biannually. [R 331.21 AME]
Provides compensation information for 2,660 occupations, listed alphabetically by occupation. Information is obtained from federal and state government sources and various trade associations and journals.
This commercial web site provides salary information for a variety of positions and geographic areas in the United States.
- Salary Calculator: Relocation, Cost of Living, Real Estate
Compare cost of living and salary rates between cities. This site also includes state tax tables, a mortgage calculator and relocation information.
- Ohio Occupational and Employment Statistics
The Occupational Employment Statistics (OES) program produces employment and wage estimates for over 700 occupations. These are estimates of the number of people employed in certain occupations, and estimates of the wages paid to them. Self-employed persons are not included in the estimates. Estimates are available for the nation as a whole, for individual states and for metropolitan areas. National occupational estimates for specific industries are also available.
Striking Out on Your Own
If you've ever thought about starting your own business, there are a number of resources available for entrepreneurs small business persons at Worthington Libraries.
An official site of the U.S. Government, Business.gov helps small businesses understand their legal requirements and locate government services supporting the nation's small business community. BusinessUSA offers a number of unique search tools and features that help small business owners, start, manage, and expand their operations while meeting all their legal and regulatory requirements.
- Business Decision (database)
Business Decision is a demographic and marketing database that combines detailed market data with powerful GIS mapping features. Users will find a wealth of consumer household information, market segmentation profiles, population forecasts and demographic data. Entrepreneurs, established businesses, non-profit organizations and government agencies will all benefit from this high-powered marketing database.
- Business Plans Handbook (database)
This resource is a great place to see examples of real life business plans, from coffee shops to ski resorts.
CentralOhioEntrepreneurs.org is a resource designed to help Ohio entrepreneurs find the information they need to start, grow and manage their small business by maximizing their access to community resources, Columbus Metro Library's business resources, community partner programs and free internet resources. They also provide access to an information professional 24 hours a day, 365 days a year for personal assistance.
- City of Columbus Economic Development
The City of Columbus Economic Development site contains a wealth of information for businesses interested in starting or expanding in the Columbus area. They offer statistics, forms, demographic information and maps that provide a wide range of data for interested entrepreneurs.
- Columbus Small Business Administration
The U.S. Small Business Administration is an independent agency of the federal government that provides assistance to existing and prospective small business owners. Columbus' local chapter offers counseling, consulting, and financial assistance to local entrepreneurs.
- Gale LegalForms (database)
New business start-ups and home-based entrepreneurs will both benefit from this comprehensive collection of forms. Forms for partnerships, limited liability companies, contracts, and personnel issues are all available in an easy to use Word format.
- Ohio Business Gateway
This site is administered by the State of Ohio and provides a wealth of government information and support for businesses large and small
- Ohio Small Business Development Centers
The SBDCs are staffed with highly trained business advisors who offer free counseling to help with your specific business needs. The 36 centers across Ohio are in your local communities to guide you to the right resources and services to help your business grow and succeed. The SBDC business advisors are the experts to assist pre-venture, start-up and existing businesses.
- SCORE Columbus
SCORE Columbus serves the greater Central Ohio area and is part of SCORE, a national nonprofit association dedicated to the success of the nation's small businesses. SCORE Columbus provides free and confidential business advice and counseling tailored to meet the needs of your small business and your personal objectives.
Related Job Hunting Subjects
Browse the library catalog or the shelves using these links and Dewey numbers.
- Business Networks: 650.14
- Civil Service Positions United States: 353.001, 351.3
- College Graduates Employment: 650.14
- Cover Letters: 650.14
- Employment Interviewing: 650.14
- Executive Recruiting: 650.14, 658.3111, 658.407
- Internship Programs: 331.259
- Job Hunting: 331.702, 650.14
- Job Hunting Computer Network Resources: 025.0665, 650.14
- Job Hunting United States Directories (i.e. employer directories): 331.128, 331.2, 338.7, 620.0023
- Resumes (Employment): 650.14
- Social Networks: 650.14
revised August 2012