The Fifth Season

Posted: Tuesday, April 18, 2017, 8:30 am

Reserve now!

The Fifth Season

N.K. Jemisin


reserve now!

Sarah C



Award winner

In brief


An award-winning fantasy book of such intensity, its magnitude will leave you with many fabulous aftershocks.

"This is the way the world ends. For the last time."

This first book in the Broken Earth trilogy was awarded the Hugo Award for best novel in 2016 and is completely worthy of it. Set on an alternate Earth where seasons last for hundreds of years caused by cataclysmic events that alter the planet and wipe out entire civilizations, the fifth season has begun with a powerful and destructive earthquake. In this world, you will find many inhabitants, including orogenes who are loathed and feared for their ability to feel and control their environment, specifically Earth's seismic activity.

This novel follows three stories: Essun, an orogene in hiding, who finds herself on a revenge quest after her son is killed; Damaya, a young girl whose family sends her away to be trained when her orogene abilities are discovered; and Syenite, who has completed her orogene training and been paired with one more advanced than she.

Each chapter alternates among the three stories creating a highly-engaging novel that explores how the world ends "for the last time." N.K. Jemisin's world-building is fabulous and the world she creates is a detailed and intricate part of the story, which just makes this book work so seamlessly. Orogeny is not a power typically found in other fantasy or sci-fi novels and the way Jemisin explores this skill in her characters is extremely well-done. I love how unique and creative the book is, and I immediately picked up the next in the series. I listened to both and the narrator is absolutely perfect. This is a five-star novel and I highly recommend you give it a try!