Get your creative juices flowing! Explore the visual arts, books and literature and music of all types from around the world with these scholarly and popular resources.

16 online resources

Worthington Libraries card & PIN required (No card? Apply online!)

American Music is a database of sound recordings providing online access to thousands of albums and tens of thousands of tracks, from Alexander Street Press. Coverage includes a wide range of American musical styles from a variety of periods and peoples, including American Indians, slaves, cowboys and pioneers. Also included are gospel, protest songs, Civil War songs and songs from political campaigns.

Worthington Libraries card & PIN required (No card? Apply online!)

Classical Music Library is a database of sound recordings providing online access to over 30,000 classical music tracks, with more being added each month, from Alexander Street Press. Performers represented include Callas, Rattle, Perlman, Karajan, Barenboim and many others. You may browse the collection alphabetically or search by composer, artist, conductor, ensemble, instrument, genre, period, or label.

Worthington Libraries card & PIN required (No card? Apply online!)

Contemporary World Music is a database of sound recordings providing online access albums and tracks from Alexander Street Press. Coverage includes a wide range of musical styles including fado, flamenco, klezmenr, Bollywood, reggae, and more. You may search the collection alphabetically or browse by composer, artist, ensemble, instrument, cultural group, or location. Music tracks play though an audio player but may not currently be downloaded.

Worthington Libraries card & PIN required (No card? Apply online!)

Access millions of songs from thousands of popular artists and thousands of music videos for use on your computer, MP3 player, smartphone or tablet with Freegal Music.

Songs are available in MP3 format and videos in MP4 format, both free from digital rights management (DRM) restrictions. You can download and transfer music to any device or burn music to a CD.

Worthington Libraries card & PIN required (No card? Apply online!)

Access digital video, music, comics, e-book and audiobook titles for use on your computer, smartphone, tablet or television streaming device with hoopla. All content is available streaming; some content is available to download for offline viewing, via the hoopla app.

Worthington Libraries card & PIN required (No card? Apply online!)

Jazz Music Library from Alexander Street Press is a large, comprehensive streaming audio collection of all genres of jazz, covering the music's entire history. You may search the collection alphabetically or browse by composer, performer, ensemble, instrument or recording date. Music tracks play though an audio player but may not currently be downloaded. You may create your own playlists after setting up a free account.

Worthington Libraries card & PIN required (No card? Apply online!)

JSTOR is an online archive of full-text articles from scholarly journals in the arts and sciences, especially humanities and social sciences. Search or browse articles by subject, title or publisher. Coverage starts with journals' first issue, sometimes in the late 1800s; the most recent issues are not included.

Worthington Libraries card & PIN required (No card? Apply online!)
This comprehensive database from EBSCOhost provides a broad range of full-text information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes. It features plot summaries, synopses, critical evaluations and literary criticism. Literary journals and reference books supply information on contemporary poems, short stories and classic novels as well as author biographies and interviews.
Worthington Libraries card & PIN required (No card? Apply online!)
Literature Online is a collection of poetry, prose, drama, novels and short stories spanning centuries of English and American Literature.
Worthington Libraries card & PIN required (No card? Apply online!)

Music Online brings together on a single cross-searchable platform the entire suite of Alexander Street Press music products to which Worthington Libraries subscribes. Use this search interface to instantly access all the recordings in Classical Music Library, Contemporary World Music, Jazz Music Library, American Song and Smithsonian Global Sound. Music tracks play though an audio player but may not currently be downloaded.

Worthington Libraries card & PIN required (No card? Apply online!)

If you're looking for a good book to read, try this recommendation database. You can identify titles in your favorite genres and subjects, or look for books similar to those you know and enjoy already. Novelist's database includes fiction and nonfiction titles as well as book reviews, book discussion guides and extensive author read-alikes.

Worthington Libraries card & PIN required (No card? Apply online!)

Discover popular books for young readers here! Browse hundreds of theme-oriented book lists for readers at all grade levels. Users can search for award-winning titles and recommended books in both fiction and non-fiction. Many title records have direct links to websites with information about the author and teacher resource materials. Also included in Novelist K-8 are jacket images, annotations, first chapter excerpts and Lexile scores.

Worthington Libraries card & PIN required (No card? Apply online!)

Oxford Art Online complements and updates the 34-volume print edition. It covers the same material as the print edition, and provides links to websites that show specific images of the visual arts, such as painting, sculpture, graphic arts, architecture, decorative arts and photography.

SearchOhio and its public library partners give Ohio residents access to items from the collections of more than 20 public library systems across the state, which may be requested online and delivered within days. SearchOhio also partners with the OhioLINK system, expanding access to the collections of the state's academic libraries.

Worthington Libraries card & PIN required (No card? Apply online!)

Smithsonian Global Sound is a database of sound recordings providing online access to traditional music from around the world, from Alexander Street Press. Coverage includes a wide range of musical styles from different countries. Perfect for students and researchers, Smithsonian Global Sound can be searched alphabetically or browsed by cultural group, country, language, or genre. Music tracks play though an audio player but may not currently be downloaded.

Worthington Libraries card & PIN required (No card? Apply online!)
This worldwide database of library materials provides records of any type of material cataloged and held by OCLC member libraries. Includes manuscripts written as early as the 12th century and books that are just being published today.  Find out which libraries nationwide and worldwide have an elusive book, film, sound recording or materials in your subject of interest.