20 online resources

Worthington Libraries card & PIN required (No card? Apply online!)
This collection from EBSCOhost provides full text of scholarly publications covering academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences and ethnic studies.
Worthington Libraries card & PIN required (No card? Apply online!)
Access Encyclopedia Britannica's vast collection of entries plus multimedia content, relevant magazine and journal articles, primary sources and e-books, selected web resources, a world atlas and dictionary definitions from Merriam-Webster. Search by keyword, or browse among topic areas and biographies.
Worthington Libraries card & PIN required (No card? Apply online!)
Britannica Library for Young Adults provides the trusted name and information people have come to expect from Encyclopedia Britannica in a format designed for middle- and high-school students. It offers encyclopedia articles, images, videos, biographies, an annotated world and U.S. atlas and country comparison tool. Search results may also point to primary sources, magazine articles, select websites and dictionary definitions from Merriam-Webster.
Worthington Libraries card & PIN required (No card? Apply online!)

This digital reference library contains hundreds of high-quality reference books covering a wide range of topics (arts and leisure, biography, business, food, geography, health and medicine, history, jobs and careers, language, literature, mathematics and statistics, philosophy, psychology, religion, science, social sciences and technology).

Worthington Libraries card & PIN required (No card? Apply online!)

This suite of databases from EBSCOhost includes a wide variety of topics and solid, full-text, authoritative resources for researchers from elementary school through professional level. Find magazine and newspaper databases, medical, business, academic and other reference collections here. Many articles are available in full text with images, and all can be printed, downloaded, or emailed as required.

Worthington Libraries card & PIN required (No card? Apply online!)
Explora Public Libraries provides easy-to-use features and reliable content from the world's leading magazines and reference books, grouped into easy-to-browse categories.
Worthington Libraries card & PIN required (No card? Apply online!)

Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of full-text encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. The collection includes American and ancient European history, contemporary country profiles, biographies, business plans and zoology.

Worthington Libraries card & PIN required (No card? Apply online!)

JSTOR is an online archive of full-text articles from scholarly journals in the arts and sciences, especially humanities and social sciences. Search or browse articles by subject, title or publisher. Coverage starts with journals' first issue, sometimes in the late 1800s; the most recent issues are not included.

Worthington Libraries card & PIN required (No card? Apply online!)
Library, Information Science and Technology Abstracts (LISTA) indexes journals, books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s.
Worthington Libraries card & PIN required (No card? Apply online!)

One of the most popular English language dictionaries is available online and completely searchable. Main entries are accompanied by sample illustrations, etymologies and quotations. Other features include a style guide on such popular conventions as punctuation, capitalization and documentation of sources. An advanced search option allows a search in two or more fields at the same time.

Worthington Libraries card & PIN required (No card? Apply online!)

Simultaneously search any or all of the Ohio Web Library statewide information databases from a single intuitive interface.

Worthington Libraries card & PIN required (No card? Apply online!)
The Oxford English Dictionary Online (OED) contains the complete text of the 20 volume print set, making it one of the most comprehensive online guides to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of English words.
Worthington Libraries card & PIN required (No card? Apply online!)
Want to dive into a new research topic but don’t know where to begin?  This online collection of comprehensive, peer-reviewed summaries offers an introduction to a diverse range of subjects including African history, planetary science, Communication and many more.  New topics are added regularly and each summary is designed to be read within 30 minutes and includes an annotated bibliography to help further research.
Worthington Libraries card & PIN required (No card? Apply online!)

Proquest Research Library is a periodical database that provides access to thousands of magazines, scholarly journals and newspapers. A convenient source for all levels of research, Proquest Research Library provides coverage over a broad range of subjects. Many titles are available in full text.

SearchOhio and its public library partners give Ohio residents access to items from the collections of more than 20 public library systems across the state, which may be requested online and delivered within days. SearchOhio also partners with the OhioLINK system, expanding access to the collections of the state's academic libraries.

Worthington Libraries card & PIN required (No card? Apply online!)

The Sociological Collection from EBSCOhost is a comprehensive database with full-text articles from sources covering all areas of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture and social structure.

Worthington Libraries card & PIN required (No card? Apply online!)
Very Short Introductions offers insightful introductions to a wide variety of topics.  The introductions are written by qualified experts covering many subject areas, including arts, science, history and politics.  Specific topics include archaeology, sociology, the history of law, neuroscience and more.
Worthington Libraries card & PIN required (No card? Apply online!)
The online version of World Book Encyclopedia offers articles suited for grades 4-12 and adults. With a dictionary, printable maps, photographs and illustrations, World Book Online also features audio, video and virtual reality presentations that let you explore places in the world in 360 degrees.
Worthington Libraries card & PIN required (No card? Apply online!)
This worldwide database of library materials provides records of any type of material cataloged and held by OCLC member libraries. Includes manuscripts written as early as the 12th century and books that are just being published today.  Find out which libraries nationwide and worldwide have an elusive book, film, sound recording or materials in your subject of interest. 
Worthington Libraries card & PIN required (No card? Apply online!)
This Gale resource presents easy-to-understand information on countries and dependencies from around the world. Entries discuss a variety of topics in detail, from banking and securities to climate, from government data to demographic statistics. It also includes biographical essays on national leaders.