Maintained by

Revised

August 28, 2023
People gathered with someone holding an American flag

Do you need to report a pothole to the city? Would you like help with a homebound family member? Are you lost trying to figure out how to officially change your name? We want to help!

The following list of consumer resources includes links to government services at all three levels: local, state and federal. If you're not sure where to start your search, just Ask Us!

Local

Legal assistance

Columbus Bar Directory

Looking for a lawyer?  The Columbus Bar Association maintains a searchable directory of lawyers practicing in Central Ohio.  They provide the option to search by the areas of law practiced, language options, and State/Court Licenses. Find lawyers, law firms, expert witnesses, mediators, attorney support providers, courts and more.

Crime Victims Rights Toolkit

From the Ohio Crime Victim Justice Center, this toolkit offers guidance to Ohio and federal crime victims about their rights from the time of first report to a hospital or police through investigation, prosecution, incarceration and post-release control.

Filing for divorce - Delaware County FAQ

Maintained by the Delaware County Clerk of Courts, find helpful information on the procedures and logistics surrounding filing for divorce in Delaware County. 

Filing for divorce - Franklin County FAQ

Maintained by the Franklin County Clerk of Courts, find helpful information on domestic law as well as procedures and logistics surrounding filing for divorce in Franklin County.

Free Legal Advice Resources

From the Franklin County Law Library, this curated list displays local entities that provide free legal advice on a range of subjects.  The list provides descriptions of each entity’s specialty as well who might qualify for their assistance.
Worthington Libraries card & PIN required (No card? Apply online!)

Looking for a legal form? This database provides a wide selection of legal forms specific to Ohio, as well as multi-state forms across the most popular legal areas. Includes real estate contracts, wills, pre-marital agreements, bankruptcy, divorce, landlord/tenant, patents and power of attorney.

Legal Guides - Franklin County Law Library

Maintained by the Franklin County Law Library, the LibGuides offer curated guides to a wide range of topics affected by law and the legal system. Find books held by the law library as well as links legal resources like state and national administrative codes or laws, news stories and helpful organizations.

Marriage license information

Tying the knot? Use this resource from the Franklin County Probate Court to navigate acquiring marriage licenses and find an FAQ on applications.

Ohio Legal Help

Need legal information, forms or a lawyer? Use this website for a step-by-step guide to getting the help you need. The website is provided by a nonprofit organization with content written by expert private and legal aid lawyers.

Public records

Birth and death records - Columbus Public Health Office of Vital Statistics

The Columbus Public Health Office of Vital Statistics assists with issuing certified copies of certificates for births (occurring in Ohio only) and deaths (occurring in Franklin County, Ohio only) from 1908 to present; registering births, deaths and fetal deaths occurring in Franklin County; issuing burial permits; assisting single parents with completing "Acknowledgment of Paternity Affidavits;" and assisting with correcting birth and death certificates issued in Franklin County.

Case Information Online

The Case Information Online (CIO) System was created and is maintained by the Franklin County Clerk of Courts and the Franklin County Data Center, and offers public record information for Franklin County Criminal and Civil cases filed in the General Division of the Court of Common Pleas, Domestic Relations cases filed in the Domestic Relations Division of the Court of Common Pleas, and Appellate cases filed in the 10th District Court of Appeals.

CASE Network Records Search

The Franklin County Municipal Courts provides this searchable database of public records for Franklin County civil cases, collections, misdemeanors and traffic violations.

City of Worthington Codes

Find the full text of the Ohio Residential Code here, as well as the Codified Ordinances of Worthington, Ohio.

Columbus Police Reports

The Columbus Division of Police allows you to search and browse police reports by report number, name of the victim, or location, date and crime type.

Dog Licenses - Franklin County Auditor

Have a furry friend in need of a dog license?  The Franklin County Auditor provides services to help you license a new dog, renew your license or update your information.

Property search - Franklin County Auditor

Search property records from the real property inventory maintained by the Franklin County Auditor’s Office.  Search by owner, address, Parcel ID, subdivision/condo, or use the map search or advanced search.

Public Records Search – Franklin County Recorder

Access documents recorded in the Franklin County Recorder’s Office. Index coverage began January 2, 1914 for deeds and January 2, 1970 for mortgages. You can also access the deed index books from 1804-1913.

State of Ohio Sex Offender Registry

The Ohio Attorney General’s Office offers this site, which allows you to enter any local address to view a list of all registered Ohio sex offenders living within a one-mile radius within the boundaries of your county. It will also allow you to search and view information about a particular sex offender registered in the state of Ohio.

Social services

Central Ohio Salvation Army

The Salvation Army in Central Ohio provides clothing, furniture, food, utility bill assistance, job training, after school tutoring, and more.

Coalition on Homelessness and Housing in Ohio

This site promotes a range of housing assistance services, including homelessness prevention programs, emergency shelters and permanent affordable housing with supportive services.

ElderCare Locator

The Eldercare Locator, a public service of the Administration on Aging, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, is a nationwide service that connects older Americans and their caregivers with information on senior services.

Franklin County Office on Aging

This resource provides a Senior Housing Directory which helps seniors who can live independently with finding subsidized, market rate senior citizen apartments.  Also find links to state resources that assist seniors who need access to assisted living or nursing facilities.

Jewish Family Services

Supporting the Central Ohio Community since 1908, Jewish Family Services helps people find good jobs and companies find the right talent; supports seniors and caregivers in navigating the challenges of aging; connects people to community resources; empowers family self-sufficiency through financial counseling. Services are available for all faiths, races, ages, economic circumstances, sexual orientation and gender identities.

Lutheran Social Services 211

Formerly known as HandsOn Central Ohio, LSS 211 Central Ohio connects residents of Franklin County with comprehensive and up-to-date information about social, health and government services.  Find information about peer support, healthcare, mental health, housing and utility assistance, and more.

Relink.org

Directory of community service providers, including help with addiction recovery and re-entry after incarceration.

Senior Options

Caring for an aging loved one? Senior Options is administered by the Franklin County Office on Aging and provides community-based services like home-delivered meals, personal care, adult day care and more.

Worthington Resource Pantry

6700 Huntley Road
Columbus, OH 43229
614-985-1766

The Worthington Resource Pantry provides food assistance, serving eight zip codes in northern Franklin and southern Delaware counties (43016, 43035, 43065, 43081, 43085, 43229, 43235, 43240) and whose income falls at or below 200% of the federal poverty guidelines. Their site also connects people to clothing assistance, healthcare resources and utility bill assistance.

State

Energy Choice Ohio

Information about gas and electric energy, as well as a comparison tool for energy providers.

Ohio Civil Rights Commission

OCRC, which enforces Ohio’s laws against discrimination, maintains this website to help users file charges, understand the commission’s process and learn about trainings and events.

Ohio Legislature

The Ohio Legislature website provides information about the members and business of the State Senate and House. Search legislation, view session schedules, track bills and set up alerts for legislation of interest. The site also includes a search function that lets users find information about the individuals representing them.

Opportunities for Ohioans with Disabilities

Opportunities for Ohioans with Disabilities (OOD) is the state agency that empowers Ohioans with disabilities by supporting employment, disability determinations, and independence. Find information as well as resources for individuals with disabilities, care providers and employers.

Federal

Citizenship

Citizen Resource Center

Maintained by the Office of Citizenship, this website offers resources for those hoping to become citizens, educators, and organizations that help with citizenship efforts.

How to Apply for U.S. Citizenship

From USA.gov, learn the steps for becoming a U.S. citizen including how to apply, sample test questions and what is the naturalization process. Also, find information on dual citizenship, how to get proof of your U.S. citizenship if you were born abroad or replace your lost or stolen citizenship certificate.

Federal resources

Assistance Listings

A successor to CFDA.gov, provides detailed, public descriptions of Federal assistance listings available to State and local governments (including the District of Columbia); Federally recognized Indian tribal governments, Territories (and possessions) of the United States; domestic public, quasi- public, and private profit and nonprofit organizations and institutions; specialized groups, and individuals.

Federal Government Jobs

USAJOBS connects job seekers with federal employment opportunities across the United States and around the world.

Find an Inmate

The Federal Bureau of Prisons provides this searchable database of anyone incarcerated in a federal prison any time since 1982.

Healthcare.gov

Established under the Affordable Care Act, the healthcare.gov site helps individuals explore their health care coverage options.

Name change on Social Security Card

The FAQ on the Social Security website details the process of changing your name on your social security card if you legally changed your name because of marriage, divorce, court order or any other reason.

O*NET Online

From the U.S. Department of Labor, O*NET online is a powerful tool for researching occupations and jobs. Use the O*NET Interest Profiler to explore career options that are good fits for your interests. There's also a feature that allows users to identify "in-demand" job sectors.

Product Safety Recalls

This site, managed by the US Consumer Product Safety Commission, provides a hub for consumers to learn about the latest recalls on products and report product safety concerns.

USA.gov

A subject-based portal to Federal services and resources online.  A Spanish site is also available.

Government information

Budget of the United States Government

Issued by the Office of Management and Budget (OMB), the Budget of the United States Government is a collection of documents that contains the budget message of the President, information about the President's budget proposals for a given fiscal year, and other budgetary publications that have been issued throughout the fiscal year.

Catalog of U.S. Government Publications

The CGP is the finding tool for federal publications that includes descriptive records for historical and current publications and provides direct links to those that are available online.

Code of Federal Regulations

The Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) annual edition is the codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the departments and agencies of the Federal Government.

Compilation of Presidential Documents

The Compilation of Presidential Documents collection consists of the Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents and the Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents which are the official publications of materials released by the White House Press Secretary.

Congress.gov

Provides information about legislation activities, publications, and other related materials for members of Congress and the public.

Congressional Record (daily)

The Congressional Record is the official record of the proceedings and debates of the United States Congress. It is published daily when Congress is in session.

Data.gov

Data.gov is the United States government’s open data website. It provides access to datasets published by agencies across the federal government.

Economic Indicators

Available from April 1995 forward, this monthly publication is prepared by the Council of Economic Advisers for the Joint Economic Committee. It provides economic information on gross domestic product, income, employment, production, business activity, prices, money, credit, security markets, Federal finance, and international statistics.

Economic Report of the President

The Economic Report of the President is an annual report written by the Chairman of the Council of Economic Advisers. It overviews the nation's economic progress using text and extensive data appendices. Documents are available in plain text and PDF, with many of the tables also available for separate viewing and downloading as spreadsheets in Microsoft Excel spreadsheets.

Explore Census Data

A source for population, economic, housing, and geographic information and data about the United States, Puerto Rico and the Island areas.

Federal Holidays

Maintained by the United States Office of Personnel Management, this site lists the US federal holidays for the year and gives guidance for when they are celebrated.

Federal Register (daily)

Published by the Office of the Federal Register, National Archives and Records Administration (NARA), the Federal Register is the official daily publication for rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as executive orders and other presidential documents.

govinfo

A database providing free public access to official publications from all three branches of the U.S. Federal Government.

Official Congressional Directory

The Congressional Directory is the official directory of the U.S. Congress, prepared by the Joint Committee on Printing (JCP). It offers short biographies of each member of the Senate and House, listed by state or district; committee memberships, terms of service, administrative assistants and/or secretaries, and room and telephone numbers for Members of Congress; and lists officials of the courts, military establishments, and other Federal departments and agencies, including D.C. government officials, governors of states and territories, foreign diplomats, and members of the press, radio, and television galleries.

Social Security Handbook

The Social Security Handbook provides a table of contents through which to navigate and understand the provisions of the Social Security Act.

United States Code

The United States Code is the codification by subject matter of the general and permanent laws of the United States. It is divided by broad subjects into 51 titles and published by the Office of the Law Revision Counsel of the U.S. House of Representatives. The U.S. Code was first published in 1926 with subsequent main editions have been published every six years since 1934. In between editions, annual cumulative supplements are published in order to present the most current information.

United States Government Manual

As the official handbook of the Federal Government, the United States Government Manual provides comprehensive information on the agencies of the legislative, judicial, and executive branches. It also includes information on quasi-official agencies; international organizations in which the United States participates; and boards, commissions, and committees. The Manual begins with reprints of the Declaration of Independence and the U.S. Constitution.

United States Reports

The United States Reports are the official record of the rulings, orders, case tables, and other proceedings of the Supreme Court of the United States. The Reports are often used for citing Supreme Court decisions.

United States Statutes at Large

The United States Statutes at Large, typically referred to as the Statutes at Large, is the permanent collection of all laws and resolutions enacted during each session of Congress. Online volumes cover 1951 to the present. The Statutes at Large is prepared and published by the Office of the Federal Register (OFR), National Archives and Records Administration (NARA).

Recommended for

April O

I work in adult services and love reading books for any age group! Anything that is well-written and makes me laugh, learn or feel some big feels is a winner with me. When I am not reading, I love to paint, draw, explore new places on foot or on bike and practice martial arts.

More by me