Maintained by
Kara R

Revised

February 29, 2024
Apple wrapped in measuring tape
This guide to print and online health resources lists resources deemed useful, authoritative and current. It does not include materials pertinent only to specific diseases or conditions; for such materials, please ask a librarian for assistance. This guide is for informational purposes and is not a substitute for consulting with your physician or other health care provider.

General health and health reference

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

The United States Centers for Disease Control site offers detailed travelers' health information and recommendations, online health brochures and reports, statistical data, health-related announcements, information on human development, diseases, emergency preparedness, and much more.

ClinicalTrials.Gov

Developed by the National Institutes for Health, this site provides information regarding current clinical research on medical treatments for a variety of health problems. Search or browse by type or name of condition to find links to relevant trials. Information about trials in general is also available.

Consumer Health Complete

Worthington Libraries card & PIN required (No card? Apply online!)
Consumer Health Complete from EBSCOhost offers full-text journals, magazines, reference books as well as videos and animations that deal with health, wellness, fitness and nutrition. Coverage includes complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health and wellness.

ConsumerReports.org

Worthington Libraries card & PIN required (No card? Apply online!)
ConsumerReports.org provides web-based access through EBSCOhost to the most current Consumer Reports ratings available.

Credo Reference: Health & Medicine

Worthington Libraries card & PIN required (No card? Apply online!)

Medical dictionaries, handbooks and encyclopedias are available here, giving coverage of topics including aging, diseases, alternative medicine, midwives, nursing, neuropsychology and more. The Harvard Medical School Health Reports, as well as their video series on common health questions, are also provided.

Health Source: Consumer Edition

Worthington Libraries card & PIN required (No card? Apply online!)
Health Source: Consumer Edition provides full-text articles from consumer health magazines, newsletters, reference books and pamphlets as well as links to a medical dictionary. Some publications are peer-reviewed. Topics covered include nutrition, drugs, childcare, sports medicine and general health.

Health Source: Nursing / Academic Edition

Worthington Libraries card & PIN required (No card? Apply online!)

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition from EBSCOhost is a trusted source of nursing and allied health literature. It provides access to full-text scholarly journals focusing on such disciplines as pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management and medical law and includes a dictionary of medical terminology.

MayoClinic.com

The Mayo Clinic offers reference materials for diseases and conditions, drugs, first-aid and self-care. It also has interactive heath features, such as its Symptom Checker.

MEDLINE

Worthington Libraries card & PIN required (No card? Apply online!)

MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE allows users to search abstracts from current biomedical journals.

MEDLINEPlus

MedlinePlus is a service of the National Library of Medicine (NLM), the world's largest medical library, which is part of the National Institutes of Health (NIH). The site provides information on a wide range of health matters, including diseases, medical terms, drugs, genetics, medical tests and more.  Its content is available in both English and Spanish.

Merck Manual Professional Version

A standard and comprehensive reference for health professionals and others, the Merck Manual covers many medical disorders, symptoms, common clinical procedures, current therapies and laboratory tests.

Merck Manual Consumer Version

This consumer version of the Merck Manual is aimed at the public rather than medical professionals. As well as using simpler terminology, it has sections on fundamentals of health, aging, drugs and medical tests.

Mosby's Medical Dictionary

2022
R 610.3 MOS
As well as definition of medical terms, this dictionary has many illustrations and photos and a color atlas of human anatomy.

National Organization for Rare Disorders (NORD)

The National Organization for Rare Disorders (NORD) is a federation of health organizations dedicated to helping people with rare "orphan" conditions and the organizations that serve them. NORD is committed to the identification, treatment and cure of rare disorders through programs of education, advocacy, research and service.

Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary

2017
R 610.3 TAB
In addition to concise definitions for thousands of medical terms, this dictionary has several useful appendices covering such matters as nutrition, alternative therapies, phobias, medical abbreviations and poisons.

Affordable Care Act information

You can apply for health insurance coverage via the Affordable Care Act (ACA). Check out the When can you get health insurance? for more details on when open enrollment starts and ends and to find out if you qualify for Special Enrollment.

There are five ways that consumers can sign up for insurance under the ACA.

  • Phone
    You may call the toll-free Help Center number: 1-800-318-2596. Help is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week (except holidays) and in multiple languages.
  • Online
    Sign up at the official government Health Insurance Marketplace at HealthCare.gov (in Spanish: CuidadoDeSalud.gov). You can use the site to "shop" for the best insurance policy for yourself and your family.
  • Mail
    Download and print an application form and instructions, or call the toll-free Help Center (1-800-318-2596) to have a copy of the paper application mailed to you.
  • In-person
    Find people who are trained and certified to help by searching LocalHelp.HealthCare.gov.
  • With an agent or broker
    Agents and brokers are employed by insurance companies. At no cost to you, they will help you select and apply for an insurance plan.

Looking for more information or guidance? Check out these useful links.

Health Insurance Marketplace @ CMS.gov

If your organization or business would like to help consumers who need health coverage, visit this partner website from the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services to find promotional materials, set up educational sessions and more.

Selecting a provider

AMA DoctorFinder

AMA DoctorFinder is a directory of over 800,000 licensed U.S. physicians. You can search by name or specialization, and by state, city or zip code.

Comparative Guide to American Hospitals

2014
R 362.11 COM
This reference book ranks hospitals in the U. S. based on their standard of care for three common ailments: heart attack, heart failure and pneumonia. Each hospital is profiled in a following section.

ElderCare Locator

The Eldercare Locator, a public service of the Administration on Aging, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, is a nationwide service that connects older Americans and their caregivers with information on senior services.

Hospital Compare at Medicare.gov

This hospital comparison tool on the Medicare website includes Department of Defense and VA hospitals.  Compare facilities based on 57 different measures of quality.  The site also includes information on other types of healthcare providers, such as doctors and nursing homes.  You can also evaluate Medicare health and drug plans.

Hospital Ratings and Reports

Need help choosing a hospital? This handy tool published by The Leapfrog Group, a national non-profit organization offers information about hundreds of hospitals that have been surveyed on quality, safety, and resource use.  The Leapfrog Group also assigns hospitals a letter grade based on patient safety.

Long Term Care Guide

The information on this site includes topics such as the basics of determining care needs, finding appropriate services and the financial logistics of care. It also has links to additional resources that include agencies to contact for further information.

State of Ohio Long-term Care Consumer Guide

Published by the Ohio Department of Aging, this web site includes information about nursing homes and assisted living facilities to help consumers, family members and professionals search for the appropriate facility to meet an individual's needs. Launch the "Long-Term Care Consumer Guide" to explore care options, find facilities and connect to long-term care resources.

State of Ohio Medical Board

This is the official site of Ohio's Licensure Boards, the agencies that oversee doctors, dentists, psychologists, pharmacist assistants, massage therapists, cosmetic therapists, acupuncturists, mechanotherapists and anesthesiologist assistants. It provides information on the Boards' actions, a database of Ohio licensees and any formal actions taken or pending against them, as well as information on how to file complaints against a practitioner.

2022 Top Doctors in Central Ohio

Detailed information about education, training and special expertise of physicians in the Columbus area are compiled by a physician led team of researchers for the August 2022 edition of Columbus Monthly magazine.

U.S. News and World Report Best Hospitals

Children's hospitals, regional hospitals and specialty hospitals across the country are ranked based on comparisons such as clinical outcomes, delivery of care and other health care markers.

Drugs and medications

Food and Drug Administration

The FDA has up to date U.S. government information and advice on Food, Drugs, Medical Devices, Cosmetics, and other matters of public health. It also has information on how and where to report problems.

Alternative health care

National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health

One of the National Institutes of Health, the NCCIH provides scientifically researched information regarding complementary and alternative healing practices. A database of the literature and other authoritative information on these topics are among its features.

Natural Medicines

Worthington Libraries card & PIN required (No card? Apply online!)

Natural Medicines provides an authoritative resource on dietary supplements, natural medicines and complementary, alternative and integrative therapies. This regularly updated product includes research from the National Standard and Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database.

Quackwatch

This site, operated by a retired physician turned consumer advocate, is a guide to medical quackery, health fraud and intelligent health-related decisions. Its extensive contents cover chiropractic, magnet therapy and many other alternative therapies, as well as information on consumer protection, health strategies and nutrition.

Mental health

APA's Psychology Help Center

The American Psychological Association's Help Center and Psychology Topics offers news, recommended books, online brochures and much more useful information about all kinds of psychological conditions. The site also includes a list of crisis hotlines and resources for finding long term psychological help.

Credo Reference: Psychology

Worthington Libraries card & PIN required (No card? Apply online!)

This collection contains handbooks, dictionaries and encyclopedias covering the key concepts, theories and thinkers in all branches of psychology. Included are topics such as child development, relationships, abnormal psychology, psychopathology, psychoanalysis and forensic psychology.

National Alliance on Mental Illness: Ohio Resources

NAMI Ohio (National Alliance on Mental Illness of Ohio) provides mutual support, education and advocacy for individuals and families affected by serious brain disorders. This page provides a list of national, state and local resources for those facing a variety of challenges to mental health.

National Suicide Prevention Lifeline

In crisis or distress? Call 988, the National Suicide Prevention Lifeline, a national network of local crisis centers for free and confidential emotional support to people in suicidal crisis or emotional distress. Available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection

Worthington Libraries card & PIN required (No card? Apply online!)
The Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection from EBSCOhost is a comprehensive database with more than 510 full text titles covering topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.

Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration

SAMHSA is an agency within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services that aims to make substance abuse and mental disorder information, services, and resources more accessible.  Access helplines for those in crisis or distress, as well as resources for seeking treatment.

COVID-19

Get the Shot

Use the Ohio Department of Health's Vaccine Management Solution (VMS) to determine vaccine eligibility, find providers and get updates and reminders. The site also provides information and FAQs about COVID vaccines.

Ohio Department of Public Health

The Coronavirus (COVID-19) portal page from the State of Ohio with information tracking cases in Ohio, details on statewide advisories and initiatives and more.

World Health Organization

The Coronavirus disease (COVID-19) pandemic page from the WHO, with advice for the public, country-specific guidance, travel advice, answers to common questions and more.

Recommended for

Teens
Adults
Headshot of Kara R

Kara R

I am the library's digital library manager. I like to read fantasy, sci-fi, historical fiction and retellings, especially extra-long tomes. When it comes to music, give me anything with a groove and some soul. 

More by me