Maintained by

Revised

September 16, 2020
Person filling out job application

Dealing with unemployment due to the coronavirus crisis? Visit the Ohio Department of Job and Family services page on Coronavirus and Unemployment Insurance Benefits.

Check out more resources on filing for unemployment in Ohio.

Need help with your small business? Visit the City of Columbus Economic Development Division to download the "COVID-19 Small Business Resource Guide."

Need more help? From skill building to resumes to interviewing, library staff can answer any job search question. Ask Us online and you will receive a response within 12-24 business hours.

Use these library and online resources to assist you in your job search.

Job hunting and career guidance

CareerOneStop's Toolkit

Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Labor, this site offers career resources and workforce information to job seekers, students, businesses, and workforce professionals. Here you can explore careers, get information on salary and benefits, education and training, job searching, resumes and interviews and people and places to help.

Central Ohio ReEmployment & Resource Virtual Hiring Events

The Central Ohio ReEmployment & Resource Virtual Hiring Event is designed to provide you an opportunity to connect with businesses that have available positions and are ready to hire all without leaving the comfort of your home. The virtual hiring event is presented by the Workforce Development Board of Central Ohio (WDBCO), OhioMeansJobs Columbus-Franklin County (OMJCFC), One Columbus, Columbus Chamber and our media sponsors at WBNS-10TV, Columbus Business First and WCKX 107.5.
Worthington Libraries card & PIN required (No card? Apply online!)
Looking for a job? Considering a career change? JobNow from Brainfuse offers help with resume building, career coaching and interview preparation. Get live help daily from 2-11pm, Eastern time.

Ohio Labor Market Information

What jobs are in demand? How much do they pay? How many workers are unemployed? If you have questions like these, this site has the answers. OLMI is your source for reports and data about employment levels, unemployment rates, wages and earnings, employment projections, jobs, training resources and careers.

O*NET Online

O*NET online is a powerful tool for researching occupations and jobs. The skills search feature is a great way to match your talents with specific occupations. There's also a feature that allows users to identify "in-demand" job sectors.

thebalance.com's Job Searching

This personal finance website (an About.com company) has a host of articles on everything from job application tips, to interview help, to leaving your current job.

United States Bureau of Labor Statistics

This site is chock full of employment statistics, offering information on national, state and local, and state and county employment, employment and worker characteristics, employment research, international employment comparisons and employment projections.

Central Ohio jobs

Columbus Region Job Openings

Find out who’s hiring in the Columbus Region, from One Columbus, the economic development organization for the 11-county Columbus Region. Some of the most notable Columbus employers are listed in this job board. Click on a company to search for job opportunities.

Ohio Means Jobs

OhioMeansJobs provides a searchable listing of state jobs combined with national commercial job boards and niche industry sites.

State of Ohio Job Search

This site lists all current openings with the state of Ohio as well as information on how to apply.

Job hunting on the web

CareerBuilder.com

CareerBuilder lets you search for jobs, post your resume, and also features a number of free tools including salary calculators, career assessments and resume critiques.

Dice.com

Dice.com helps tech experts at every stage of their careers search for jobs.

FlexJobs

Use FlexJobs to find remote work-from-home jobs, freelance jobs and on-site jobs offering flexible and alternative schedules.

Glassdoor

Glassdoor lists jobs, salary information, company reviews and interview questions, posted anonymously by employees and job seekers.

Honest Jobs

Honest Jobs helps with fair-chance employment by working with employers who want to hire people with criminal history.

Indeed

Indeed is a job search engine. Enter the job you're looking for and a location, and Indeed returns results pulled from newspaper and job board listings as well as association and company employment sites.

Jobs2Careers

Jobs2Careers offers job postings as well as tips, resources, and advice to help grow your career.

LinkedIn Jobs

Browse for jobs by industry, company or title; search by keyword and location. LinkedIn also allows you to set up a profile and receive alerts for jobs matching your background.

Monster.com

Monster is the largest job search engine in the world. It lets you search for jobs, post your resume for recruiters to find, and also features company profiles and advice forums.

PeopleReady

PeopleReady lists available jobs in the skilled trades and industrial staffing, including transportation, hospitality, construction, warehousing and more.

Simply Hired

Simply Hired is a job search engine boasting over 4 million job postings. Search by field and geography or browse by industry.

USAJobs

This site is maintained by the U. S. Government and provides information on federal jobs available across the country.

Vault

In addition to a job search feature, Vault offers news and discussions on companies and industries.

ZipRecruiter.com

ZipRecruiter offers over 16 million postings for active job seekers.  Or, post your resume and let employers come to you. Search for salary information on thousands of job titles and view local and national salaries by hour, week, and year.

Resumes, cover letters and interviews

CareerOneStop's Interview and Negotiate

Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Labor, this site offers information on the different types of interviews, how to prepare for an interview, and a Ready to Go? Checklist so you'll arrive prepared.

CV Maker

A free tool that guides you in writing your resume and hosts your resume for sharing.
Worthington Libraries card & PIN required (No card? Apply online!)
Looking for a job? Considering a career change? JobNow from Brainfuse offers help with resume building, career coaching and interview preparation. Get live help daily from 2-11pm, Eastern time.

Kickresume

Use career-specific templates and pre-written phrases to create your resume and cover letter. Only a limited number of basic templates are free. You can also log in and grant access to your LinkedIn profile to automatically create a resume.
Worthington Libraries card & PIN required (No card? Apply online!)
Learning Express Library (Learn A Test) provides practice tests, review materials and scoring for many academic and occupational standardized tests, including ACT, SAT, Civil Service Exam, ASVAB, GED, EMT Basic, Real Estate Sales Agent, Firefighter, Police Officer, 4th & 8th grade practice tests, Advanced Placement (AP) exams and more.

Monster Resumes & Letters

The popular online recruitment provider offers articles packed with tips and advice on crafting resumes and cover letters. Especially noteworthy are the many sample resumes and cover letters the site provides.

resume.com

Follow the steps to build a resume using this service from Indeed.

Where the jobs are: Employer directories

Worthington Libraries card & PIN required (No card? Apply online!)
AtoZ Databases offers an extensive directory of businesses, including detailed profiles, job opportunities and more. It also includes information on healthcare professionals, residential household, new homeowners and newly moved households. Updated monthly, it permits emailing and downloading of lengthy lists.
Worthington Libraries card & PIN required (No card? Apply online!)
As well as its extensive business listings, this database features a U.S. Standard White Pages search. The Quick Search allows searching by name or phone, with city or state limits possible. The Advanced Search also permits searching by address, street name or ZIP code. Available from home with a valid library card.

Networking

LinkedIn

LinkedIn lets you connect with people, give and receive recommendations and post your professional profile where recruiters can find it. Use this social networking site for professional contacts to search for people or companies.

VisualCV

VisualCV lets you post your resume online, along with work samples, charts, graphs, images, audio and videos. Get your own unique URL to email to potential employers or post to networking sites. The site also lets you control who can see your information.

Central Ohio networking groups

When you're ready to get out there and start meeting people, Central Ohio offers a variety of options for face-to-face networking.

Career & Business Meetups

Not only is Meetup.com a great place to find new friends, it is also useful for professional networking.

Columbus Ohio Area Networking Guide

Information on the variety of networking events in the Columbus, Ohio area. Events found via online sources and organized into groups based on topic or theme.

Columbus Young Professionals (CYP)

CYP Club focuses on providing social, cultural, philanthropic, athletic, and career networking opportunities for Columbus-area professionals in their twenties, thirties, and early forties.

IT Martini

IT Martini connects Information Technology professionals in Ohio to their IT community with thoughtful and fun events.

Job training and education

Sometimes a new skill or a little extra training is all it takes to land your next job. The sites below can help you find training opportunities and certification requirements.

CareerOneStop's Find Training

This website is a source for career exploration, training and jobs. Find training programs, colleges and universities in your local area.

Columbus Public Schools Department of Adult and Community Education

Adult Workforce Education courses are available in health occupations, skilled trades and computer applications. You can prepare to earn your high school equivalency by attending free classes, and foreign-born adults can learn to read, write and speak English in English for Speakers of Other Languages program.

Columbus State Community College Adult Learner Services

Focusing on the needs of students who are attending college while working, taking care of families and fulfilling other responsibilities, Columbus State Community College offers flexible classes including online options and manageable payment plans so busy adults can earn a college degree.
Worthington Libraries card & PIN required (No card? Apply online!)
Learning Express Library (Learn A Test) provides practice tests, review materials and scoring for many academic and occupational standardized tests, including ACT, SAT, Civil Service Exam, ASVAB, GED, EMT Basic, Real Estate Sales Agent, Firefighter, Police Officer, 4th & 8th grade practice tests, Advanced Placement (AP) exams and more.
Worthington Libraries card & PIN required (No card? Apply online!)

lynda.com offers courses and online video tutorials (complete with captions and searchable transcripts), including the most current and popular software programs from Apple, Microsoft, Adobe and more.

U. S. Department of Labor Employment and Training Administration

The Employment and Training Administration (ETA) administers federal government job training and worker dislocation programs, federal grants to states for public employment service programs and unemployment insurance benefits. These services are primarily provided through state and local workforce development systems.  

Filing for unemployment in Ohio

If you've recently lost your job, you may qualify for unemployment. Below are some sites that can help you through the process of filing an unemployment compensation claim.

Wage, salary and relocation information

Occupational and Employment Statistics

The Occupational Employment Statistics (OES) program produces employment and wage estimates for over 700 occupations. These are estimates of the number of people employed in certain occupations, and estimates of the wages paid to them. Self-employed persons are not included in the estimates. Estimates are available for the nation as a whole, for individual states and for metropolitan areas. National occupational estimates for specific industries are also available.

Salary.com

This commercial web site provides salary information for a variety of positions and geographic areas in the United States.

ZipRecruiter.com

ZipRecruiter offers over 16 million postings for active job seekers.  Or, post your resume and let employers come to you. Search for salary information on thousands of job titles and view local and national salaries by hour, week, and year.

Striking out on your own

If you've ever thought about starting your own business, there are a number of resources available for entrepreneurs and small-business persons at Worthington Libraries.

BusinessUSA

An official site of the U.S. Government, Business.gov helps small businesses understand their legal requirements and locate government services supporting the nation's small business community. BusinessUSA offers a number of unique search tools and features that help small business owners, start, manage, and expand their operations while meeting all their legal and regulatory requirements.
Worthington Libraries card & PIN required (No card? Apply online!)
This multi-volume set provides sample business plans aimed at entrepreneurs seeking funding for small businesses in the service, manufacturing and retail industries.

City of Columbus Economic Development

The City of Columbus Economic Development site contains a wealth of information for businesses interested in starting or expanding in the Columbus area. They offer statistics, forms, demographic information and maps that provide a wide range of data for interested entrepreneurs.

Columbus Region Doing Business

Find information on the vision of the Columbus region, business opportunities, market research, industries, relocation information and news and events happening around Central Ohio.

Columbus Small Business Administration

The U.S. Small Business Administration is an independent agency of the federal government that provides assistance to existing and prospective small business owners. Columbus' local chapter offers counseling, consulting, and financial assistance to local entrepreneurs.
Worthington Libraries card & PIN required (No card? Apply online!)

Looking for a legal form? This database provides a wide selection of legal forms specific to Ohio, as well as multi-state forms across the most popular legal areas. Includes real estate contracts, wills, pre-marital agreements, bankruptcy, divorce, landlord/tenant, patents and power of attorney.

Ohio Business Gateway

This site is administered by the State of Ohio and provides a wealth of government information and support for businesses large and small.

Ohio Small Business Development Centers

The SBDCs are staffed with highly trained business advisors who offer free counseling to help with your specific business needs. The 36 centers across Ohio are in your local communities to guide you to the right resources and services to help your business grow and succeed. The SBDC business advisors are the experts to assist pre-venture, start-up and existing businesses.

SCORE Columbus

SCORE Columbus serves the greater Central Ohio area and is part of SCORE, a national nonprofit association dedicated to the success of the nation's small businesses. SCORE Columbus provides free and confidential business advice and counseling tailored to meet the needs of your small business and your personal objectives.

Related job hunting subjects

Browse the library catalog or the shelves using these links and Dewey numbers.

Recommended for

Alison N

I work in technical services, but can often be found in the children's department. I love to read and/or listen to books for all ages. My favorite genres are fantasy, historical fiction and thrillers. I also love graphic novels. Besides reading, I enjoy road trips, crafting and hanging out with my two goofy cats. 

More by me