Research the people and places of Worthington-- and beyond!
Get started researching your family tree or house history with this selection of library resources in print and online as well as key community resources.
The library subscribes to some additional online databases on the topics of history and biography that may also be useful in your research.
- Books on genealogy can be found in the reference or circulating book section with the call number 929, or by searching the keyword genealogy in the catalog. We also offer a number of online library databases that support research on family history.
- The Worthington Memory website includes burial records for Walnut Grove Cemetery, Flint Cemetery and St. John's Episcopal Church Cemetery, including obituaries when available. Several online library databases are also helpful locating obituaries.
- Books on Worthington history can be found in the 977.156 section of the reference and circulating books. You can also search the catalog for Worthington history or visit the Worthington Room at the Old Worthington Library to explore a range of Worthington history titles.
- The library offers Worthington-area newspapers on microfilm, from 1812 to the present day, available in the Worthington Room at the Old Worthington Library. The Worthington Memory website includes indexed newspaper articles published in a selection of these newspapers.
22 online resources
Begin your genealogical or local history research with Ancestry Library Edition from ProQuest and Ancestry.com. Ancestry Library Edition includes the digitized images of the U.S. Federal Census from 1790 forward, the American Genealogical Biographical Index, Passenger and Immigration Lists Index, court and military records, slave narratives, reference sources and more.
Columbus Metropolitan Library - Local History & Genealogy
The genealogy collection housed on the third floor in the Genealogy, History and Travel Division of the Columbus Metropolitan Library is one of the largest collections of genealogical resources in the United States. Since 2007, the collection has grown to include the genealogy collections of the State Library of Ohio, the Palatines to America Society and the Franklin County Genealogical & Historical Society. The library's collection includes indexes and transcriptions of census, vital, military, court and other records, as well as state, county and local histories, family histories, surname files, maps and atlases and more.
FamilySearch provides searchable access to names as well as images of historical genealogical records. It includes birth, marriage, death, census, land and court records from more than 130 countries to help you discover and make family connections. Just click through and register to create a new account on FamilySearch, or log in to your existing FamilySearch account.
Franklin County Auditor - Property search
Franklin County Recorder - Official Records Search
Access documents recorded in the Franklin County Recorder’s Office. To search by a known owner, select “Search Index & Full Text (OCR).” Deeds provide the name of the grantor (seller) and grantee (buyer), date of transfer, lot number and physical description including boundaries and size. Index coverage began January 2, 1914 for deeds and January 2, 1970 for mortgages. You can also access the deed index books from 1804-1913.
Hayes Presidential Center Library Ohio Obituary Index
HeritageQuest Online from ProQuest is a comprehensive collection of primary genealogical sources, local and family histories, research guides, census maps and more. Included are U.S. Federal Censuses, genealogy and local history directories, Revolutionary War records, Freedman's Bank Records and the Periodical Source Index (PERSI) Archive.
The Ohio History Connection houses a wealth of resources valuable to the genealogical researcher, including city directories, muster rolls, letters, death records, land records, military records and county and state records. For those beginning their research, the Ohio History Connection also offers genealogical workshops, in cooperation with the Columbus Metropolitan Library and the Franklin County Genealogical and Historical Society.
NewsBank provides electronic access to a large back file of stories from the "ThisWeek" collection of weekly newspapers. In addition to coverage of the major suburban editions (Worthington, Upper Arlington, Westerville, Hilliard, etc.) NewsBank also archives stories from Delaware, Johnstown, Licking County and Marysville.
Worthington Historical Society
Originally created in 2002 to commemorate Worthington's bicentennial, Worthington Memory brings together tens of thousands of records spanning hundreds of years. The website includes digitized photographs and documents, historic artifacts, audio and video as well as an index of newspaper items from Worthington's current and historical newspapers and burial records from Worthington's three cemeteries.
Worthington News on Ohio Memory
