Maintained by

Revised

February 22, 2019
Men shaking hands

Worthington Libraries provides a great deal of information for people interested in conducting business and industry research, in print and online.

If you're looking for business books, check the following call numbers:

  • 332 (financial economics, personal finance, investing),
  • 338 (production and industries),
  • 670 (manufacturing),
  • 658 (marketing).

Keep in mind that not all companies and industries are represented equally. It's possible that in certain instances very little information will be available on a particular company. 

In most cases, the following general rules apply. It is easier to find information on larger companies than smaller ones. Likewise, it is easier to find information on publicly owned companies than privately held ones. Companies that are subsidiaries of larger entities pose special problems. Often, information about subsidiaries is "absorbed" into the records of the parent companies. With all these factors to consider, it is a good idea to begin any company research by determining such things as size, location, ownership and hierarchy.

Business directories

These sources typically provide company addresses, phone numbers, sales and employment estimates and contact information. They are often a good place to begin researching a company, as they answer many of the basic questions that will help guide subsequent searching.
Available outside the library with a Worthington Libraries card & PIN (No card? Apply online!)
AtoZ Databases offers an extensive directory of businesses, including detailed profiles, job opportunities and more. It also includes information on healthcare professionals, residential household, new homeowners and newly moved households. Updated monthly, it permits emailing and downloading of lengthy lists.
Available outside the library with a Worthington Libraries card & PIN (No card? Apply online!)
As well as its extensive business listings, this database features a U.S. Standard White Pages search. The Quick Search allows searching by name or phone, with city or state limits possible. The Advanced Search also permits searching by address, street name or ZIP code. Available from home with a valid library card.

ThomasNet

ThomasNet provides online access to the Thomas Register of American Manufacturers. The database is searchable by product or service, company name or brand name. Information includes a brief company profile, web address and a contact form.

Detailed company information, annual reports and SEC filings

In many cases, the information available from directories is just a starting point. If you need in-depth financial information, company histories or investment reports, Worthington Libraries has resources that can help. In general, the following sources cover fewer companies than the directories listed above, but they do so in much more detail. A number of these resources provide links to news stories, press releases and industry information.
Available outside the library with a Worthington Libraries card & PIN (No card? Apply online!)
Hoover's offers company profiles, histories and financials for over a million public and private companies, along with links to news sources, press releases, competitors and industry profiles. Hoover's is best known as a leading publisher of business information books.
Available outside the library with a Worthington Libraries card & PIN (No card? Apply online!)

Morningstar Investment Research Center offers financial information, portfolio analysis, information on investment options and financial news. The database covers stocks and mutual and other funds and provides analysts' reports and opinions on many investment possibilities.

U. S. Securities and Exchange Commission

The Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) website allows users to search for reports filed with the SEC by qualifying public companies. This includes annual reports, quarterly filings and more.

Local business news

Newspaper and magazine articles are a good place to find information about companies and industries. In addition to print subscriptions for the Wall Street Journal, the Columbus DispatchBusiness First and others, Worthington Libraries offers the following sources to help you locate business news. Additionally, websites such as Google NewsCNN and Yahoo! offer business-specific news.

Business First

This site offers both the current issue as well as a searchable archive.
Available outside the library with a Worthington Libraries card & PIN (No card? Apply online!)
This database from NewsBank allows you to search Columbus Dispatch newspaper articles from yesterday's issue back to its founding in 1871. Only staff-written stories are available back to July 1985.
Available outside the library with a Worthington Libraries card & PIN (No card? Apply online!)

This database from EBSCOhost provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. This database is updated on a daily basis.

Market research and demographics

Bureau of Labor Statistics

The Bureau of Labor Statistics provides a myriad of statistics, from employment trends to salary surveys to consumer spending.

Melissa Data

A genuine treasure trove of geographic, demographic and statistical information, this free service from MelissaData includes lookups for ZIP codes, phone numbers, street names, school district maps, congressional maps and more.

The United States Census Bureau

The Census Bureau provides a wide range of statistics. In addition to the traditional demographic profiles, they also provide a wealth of economic data.

Industry information

If you're looking for industry overviews and rankings, you can find them in Hoovers (see above). The following directories may include major companies in various sectors and their market share.

Available outside the library with a Worthington Libraries card & PIN (No card? Apply online!)
This multi-volume set provides sample business plans aimed at entrepreneurs seeking funding for small businesses in the service, manufacturing and retail industries.
Available outside the library with a Worthington Libraries card & PIN (No card? Apply online!)
Business Source Premier from EBSCOhost provides indexing and full text of articles from scholarly journals and business periodicals covering management, international business, accounting, finance, economics, banking, marketing and other business-related topics.

Recommended for

Andrew C

I'm a library associate and I seem to find a new book for my reading list around every corner. Just don't count on my reading them all, since I like to take my sweet time becoming fully immersed in each story and subject (whether fictional, historical or technical) once I'm hooked. Otherwise, you'll find me cartooning, dreaming up new stories and hitting the trails of Ohio for more hiking and nature-watching. 

More by me